A betrayal that manifests

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time last year my first proper relationship was falling apart. The cracks were there. But it would finally collapse by text on Christmas Eve. A text which would tell me that I had become a burden and he had gone off me. Which roughly translates to he found out another girl was interested.

I am young, fickle and incredibly naive. I am not trying to say that I have been threw a lot because I haven’t. I overreacted. But I didn’t do it on purpose. Being broken up with like that really angered me and I let myself get incredibly bitter and jealous, and I am not going to pretend that those personality traits have gone away.

And while it takes everyone a long time to get over being broken up, I feel like it affects the person afterwards. I mean this even in the form of merely fancying someone, the people that have a fear of the friend-zone for it’s connections to frustration. I feel like it affects people in a wider sense as well, how they treat people. Recently I have become aware of how aggressive I can be with boys my own age, and I think this may be as a result of being broken up with. I also now don’t want a boyfriend but if I did, I would want him to be older. And he would have to be perfect. But then I wouldn’t want him and it would fall apart because I am not perfect.

I noticed this aggressive reaction to boys last night, it’s the “do-not-make-me-do-anything” sort of attitude, even if it is something that I would like to do. And I’m sorry for snapping when a guy gets close to me but I am just really not interested. And I honestly don’t do it on purpose and hate it when it does spout out.

Last night I went out with a few friends for a friends birthday and he had a go at me for never making an effort and ignoring him. Which I wasn’t. But he concluded the evening by saying that I wasn’t worth it.

Today he keeps texting me things like “how’s your day?” And I want to scream at him and ask him if he has completely forgotten everything he said last night.

And that is why I spend all my days now on my own in my room because people hurt me. The person he was talking to all night was equally having a sneaky bitch about me. Those two were meant to be my closest friends at university. And now I don’t trust them.

I gather that I sound like I am feeling sorry for myself, and I am. And there is no excuse for that and I am well aware that I should be having the time of my life. I am at the university I was obsessed with for over a year and worked hard to get here, in a city I am supposed to love and an experience I am meant to be enjoying. But I’m not. I am fed up. I am fed up of never being able to do the right thing, I want friends but I don’t want them to always be there but you can’t just turn friends off when you get bored of them or want time to yourself.

I am so bitter. And I KNOW I am. All I wanted here was to feel as though people liked me but I don’t really feel that. And they probably don’t think that I like them either and in many respects I don’t.

There is something incredibly ugly inside of me.

I realise this post is just a splurge of everything that is going round my head and it doesn’t make sense and I do need to get some perspective but I am probably just going to spend the remainder of the day, weekend and potential week ahead wallowing in self-pity.

One comment

  1. inkposts · December 8, 2013

    You could try taking up a hobby that swallows up all yr time and doesn’t allow enough time for you to think about such things, and in time, you’ll be a happy spirit, I think so anyway. 😀

Leave a Reply

