Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams by Sylvia Plath

Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams by Sylvia Plath 1

 

Recently read this and I really liked it. Of course I did, I have a minor obsession with Sylvia Plath and would like to emulate her appearance. Saying I liked this book doesn’t really mean anything, because I am yet to find something by her that I do not.

Anyway, I liked her you could relate every story to her life, she had made her own life into a work of fiction and taken events that others would pass off as normal and made them something you’d want to read, she also writes with such intensity. This is a book of Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams by Sylvia Plathshort stories which tell of different events in her past, many from her childhood. There is something very ordinary

In the edition I had it also had many of her Cambridge notes which were sad but also enthralling. Some people have criticised her for being selfish and narcissistic but that isn’t her at all, I get the sense reading this part that really she just wants a father and is possibly overwhelmed by life. She just sinks into sadness and doesn’t know how to get our of it again. I do feel sorry for her and believe that she was a woman with her own set of problems rather than being a bad person. about, which I love. For example, her insecurities,  her fears and her childhood. I think for me I sometimes make her into something she isn’t, like I make her more than a human. I guess, this book makes me want to write about really boring things in the hope that I’ll actually make them interesting.

I would recommend Sylvia Plath to anyone, there is something quite haunting in the way she writes and there is a real sense of realism but also perhaps idealism of how things ought to be but aren’t.

 

Leave a Reply

