My Top 10 Favourite Books (in no particular order)

1. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes 

My Favourite Books 8Beautifully written about two people who find they have fallen in love in impossible circumstances and who appear to begin with to be in constant conflict but also are the complete opposite. Two that probably should never have met and if they had done under normal circumstances would probably not have fallen in love. Without ruining too much about this book, the ending did make me cry. It also made me want to go out and do things and start living more, there is a great passive that Will says when he basically tells her to liver her life because she does not know what is going to happen in the future and people should be constantly be striving to better themselves.

2. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini 

My Favourite Books 5Also very beautifully written but also completely different to other books I have read before. Personally I like how it takes a different approach to things. For example there is a part about the burqa and most people find this restrictive and oppressive and at first she does but as she becomes accustomed to it she finds there is something beautiful about it. And in many ways there is, it can also be seen as a way to hide what you really are or as though she has no secrets from others but feels this can be her own personal secret and way to hide her reality from others.

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

My Favourite Books 6The Civil Rights movement in America is something that greatly interests me and this can be seen to tie in with this but by displaying blacks before the law and how a white man’s word far outweighed a black man’s. There is also something very clever about the characters, especially the children who seem to understand more than most of the adults. I especially liked Scout, she says the line, “I was born good but have grown progressively worse”, which personally I love because I think it sums up the whole human race and is something that many adults would not face up to. This novel is great because anyone reading it can see that the man is very obviously innocent and everyone on the jury can see this too but there is need to get him convicted and an expectation to carry on with preconceived ideas and the stereotype.  This is a very wise novel and one I would recommend to everyone.

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven Chbosky 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven ChboskyThis is my favourite. I feel as though I can relate to Charlie in a way I have not felt with many other books, the idea that he is trying to change the events in his life but also how others aren’t entirely letting him. I love Charlie, there is a childish innocence about him which is lovely and he is the kind of person you can’t dislike. There is definitely more than meets the eye with Charlie. The reader automatically falls in love with him and are sad as due to his good nature he is taken advantage of by many. It’s the kind of book I could keep coming back to again and again.

5. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver 

My Favourite Books 2This is interesting from a physiological perspective and has the theme of whether people were just born evil. You know that question, was Hitler just born that way or was it did factors contribute? The book is so clever because you cannot dismiss Kevin as being crazy as behind what he does is some logic and he is a very intelligent individual. He knows what he is doing which makes what he does somehow more scary. Written from the side of his mother you begin feeling sorry for her but by the end you’re just not that sure!

6. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 

My Favourite BooksPlath is probably my favourite author, her life and work fascinates me. Her style of writing is raw and sometimes quite profane. It is pessimistic and to some degree exaggerated but I love it. The Bell Jar is semi-autobiographical and speaks of her suicide attempts, it isn’t uplifting but most of the best novels aren’t. She feels as though she is in a bell jar looking at the world and not really feeling as though she belongs anywhere. She feels completely alone and as though she has no one, it’s almost a bid for control. There are parts of this which are horrific and quite gruesome that are quite hard to read, what makes it more shocking is a lot of it is true. I would recommend this to anyone and say don’t be deterred from it’s feminist branding.

7. Liver by Will Self 

My Favourite Books 4Very interesting and quite unlike anything else I have read. It is made up of short stories which are all linked by the theme of liver, each story has dark undertones but are also exceptionally well written and creative. My favourite being the story based on Prometheus and the twist on Greek mythology. Self’s writing style is quite sarcastic but also unique.

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

My Favourite Books 7Very interesting narration. This novel is set in World War II in Germany in a Himnel Street (Heaven Street), you can probably already guess the irony behind this name. The story is narrated by death who follows the story of the little girl who refers to herself as the book thief. The ending was upsetting and the reader gained a strong interest in the characters and felt upset when anything happened to them. Which inevitably it will on Himnel Street.

9. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini 

Probably like this more than A Thousand Splendid Suns. But only just. I loved the main character they seemed to be the embodiment of everything good in human beings and the reader was let down when anything bad happened to them as it was virtually impossible to find anything bad in him. Obviously I won’t ruin it and say what the worst thing was but the way it is written makes it seem yet more horrendous.

10. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

My Favourite Books 9This was my favourite as a child and I also loved the film. Narnia is still a place I would like to go to! I think I enjoyed the religious connotations but also the whole idea itself, it was just one fantasy book that really meant anything to me. I loved the four of them and this book has probably been one of the fastest I have read. Since then just reading some of Lewis’ quotes has made me love it more as he was wise but also quite funny. This classic is one that I would say is timeless.

2 comments

  1. sweetdiaryofmine · December 9, 2012

    We have a very similar taste in books 🙂

    • Hayley · December 9, 2012

      Oh really, what’s your favourite book? 😀

Leave a Reply

