Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding

I would say that the film for this book is probably one of the best romantic comedies I have ever seen, and no matter how many times I watch it I still find it lighthearted in humour. So why when I tried to read it did not make me smile once? Is that because the film wanted to be funny and the book focuses more on how Bridget is actually feel or is it the incessant Bridget Jones' Diary by Helen Fieldingneed to keep account of calorie intake is actually rather dull. Either way, I was let down by the book.

I take the blame for reading the book after the film and know that this may ruin it and also leaves you knowing what to expect which could be good or bad but also means you know the ending before it happens. I think it is more it is heralded as a comedy and the humour was lost on me, I also held it highly to make me laugh. I think maybe I found it too simplistic.

There was something I just didn’t like about Bridget, when I had really liked her in the film. I think it was that she would sprout off feminist things and then contradict them, maybe she was meant to but I thought she was rather reliant on  men. I kind of got the impression that this book was intended to go against norms expected of women, for example the language is colloquial but also quite profane which shows that women can be vulgar too, also Bridget was quite preoccupied with sex, which displays the inversion of a stereotype. At the same time it is the age-old stereotype about women being left on the shelf and the foreboding feeling of spinsterhood. She wants to be a feminist but at the same time she just wants to conform and marry someone lovely. Although then again it could just be the ramblings of an aging woman who realises she iBridget Jones' Diary by Helen Fielding 2s letting her life slip away, and wants love but more importantly wants security and someone to depend on.

I think the thing with this book is the author is obviously very intelligent as Bridget is a entricate character but I just don’t think I could accept the book for what it was. I don’t really know, but I didn’t find it particularly interesting, especially after I had found that the film was so funny. I hope I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

