The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Honestly, I really did not expect myself to enjoy this book. I merely read it because it is my boyfriend’s favourite book, although this may actually be because he has not read many others. The idea of a murdered girl looking down from her heaven on her family for a long time doesn’t usually appeal to me but this time I actually, I hate to admit it, almost liked the concept.

The author focused on what was happening on Earth rather than in Susie’s heaven, which I liked. I think this may reflect how being alive may be significantly more interesting than being dead, depending on personal views. I liked how I read about the  rest of her family and I especially liked Ruth, I just thought the idea for her was more creative than any other character. I also liked the grandmother as well, I can’t really explain why though.

However, without giving too much away, I hated the part where she came back to Earth. And I mean hated. I just thought it was too much. Also the whole romance with Ray, I know they liked it each other but they didn’t know each other properly and were very young for it to be counted as love. Let’s be honest if she had lived they may not have actually felt this way. It was probably more that they wanted more than they could have so while the “love” was still new and perfect it was taken from them. They never got a chance to experience it.

Also I tried to watch the film but found it incredibly cheesy, I will get to the end of it one day! I thought the person who played the person who killed her was

Harvey from Home and Away

even more freaky in film. I know this may sound weird but to anyone who watched Home and Away, I imagined the killer to look a lot like Harvey Ryan in Home and Away, I have never liked him! 

7 comments

  1. Michelle · August 1, 2012

    Great review. I had some of the same issues with the book, though I did like the concept and the unique perspective. I don’t plan on seeing the movie anytime soon.

    • Hayley · August 1, 2012

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 I tried to watch the film but I found it incredibly cheesy and it kind of ruined the book for me. I definately agree that staying away from the film is for the best!

  2. Adam · August 2, 2012

    I watched the movie before I read the book, and I enjoyed both, although I did have one major issue with the book. The part of the book where they go back and show a scene from his childhood with his mother bothered me. To me that scene was in the book mainly to show that there was something wrong with the killer, to make readers feel ‘safer’ when reading the book because obviously they would never do something like that, they’re “normal.”

    But overall it was a really good book, and one that I would recommend to people.

    • Hayley · August 2, 2012

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 I kmow what you mean about that scene and agree 🙂 However what I disliked most was when Susie came back to life as Ruth for a few hours and had sex with Ray. I thought the concept of the book got stretched too far here. I haven’t seen the majority of the film but am going to try to at some point although I found the part I saw incredibly cheesy!

  3. ellisnelson · August 2, 2012

    I liked the book a lot but the movie was anti-climatic and flat. The character of Suzie don’t bother me. I loved the grandmother though.

    • Hayley · August 2, 2012

      Hi, thanks for commenting 🙂 From what I saw of the film it was really cheesy. Also I thought that Susie was ok in the book byt in the film she kind of came across quite pathetic! I really liked the grandmother as well!

  4. Pingback: Most disturbing books I have read… « Sunsets and Fireworks

Leave a Reply

