Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

I watched Scott Pilgrim vs. The World a few weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. If any of you know my blog you will know that I am not entirely a massive fan of films. I try! I enjoy them for a while and then am overwhelmed by the cheesiest and then cannot focus anymore on the film and get annoyed by how fake and unrealistic it is and how it would never happen in real life. I know that is ridiculous because no one would want to watch real life because it is too boring or not as happy as we would like it to be but I just can’t help it. It’s not as though I set out to think that…I just do!

Anyway I enjoyed this film not because I believed the storyline, I don’t know anyone who does! It is a fairly silly thing to believe. I enjoyed it because the film makers didn’t try to make me believe it. Let me explain. Having the whole semantic field of a comic meant that it was meant to be fake and by having the hearts on the screen when they were kissing and various other symbols to enhance the idea of it being a comic made it into something that wasn’t real. Therefore it meant that I wasn’t getting wound up by “this couldn’t happen!” And was actually just watching it as a film, which is what I should do with all films! The idea of “7 evil exes” is not something I actually believed but did entertain me because it wasn’t presented as though it could happen! Furthermore I also enjoyed many of the lines like “I was bi-curious…well I’m bi-furious!”, a line which is very often in my head. Also I could believe the main character in this role! When he was in Juno he just seemed too sweet and innocent and I didn’t believe it would get her pregnant, he kind of came across pathetic. Mean? I think so, but that’s what I thought!

Anywhere, that’s what I thought! I will have to watch it again soon as I did find it rather amusing!

Leave a Reply

