Slumdog Millionaire

I know this film came out ages ago but I am slow to watch anything. I like watching films but I don’t go out of my way to see them, if you know what I mean. My boyfriend and I had a conversation about my film viewing after I had seen it and he said that I just wasn’t affected by films. Give me a good book and I can be in tears but with films I just see the cheesiness and then don’t like it. He says I should just accept it is going to be cheesy before I watch it but instead I always assume it won’t be and then am disappointed.

I know this film is meant to be amazing, and it is, I won’t dispute that. I enjoyed when he went back in his past, and it showed how you can have a deep understanding of the world without an education, it was more about being observant. It was well put together. A film like this could so easily fall into the trap of being repetitive but it didn’t. Too much. His story was sad and the part when his mother died did make me feel sad especially when he came back in the end and she was just lying there.

However, call me what you will, I was not content with the ending. Yes, it was what you wanted to happen but as it is not real life can’t they make it different. Every film finishes happy and that isn’t life! The ending was predictable and you know maybe a little part of me wanted Jamal to get over Latika. I know that is horrible but if it were real life and you had a little crush on someone as a child you would get over it, you would be curious but you wouldn’t travel India, go on TV and get back with her at the end. You just wouldn’t. What is the point of watching a film which is an illusion of reality and then just coming back to reality and realising it is not like that. Maybe that is just me being cynical. I wouldn’t put it past me.

The next point I would like to make is completely my fault. After watching The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel I couldn’t really take Jamal, Dev Patel,  too seriously. I kept expecting him to run around after people and say “it will all get better in the end” and try to make a bad situation seem good. Entirely my fault. I think though if people watched Slumdog Millionaire after seeing The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel they would probably agree.

Overall I did like this film it was just when the cheesiness kind of took over the ending that I didn’t enjoy. That is just me, disliking love, that affects that though. Personal love I like but I don’t need to watch others feeling like that. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

