The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I have long-awaited reading this book and have been excited about it for quite some time. So let’s make the post a good one! Ever since my boyfriend bought it for me for my birthday I have been eager to read it, to say the least! Although when I turned to the back of the book, you know where the quotes from famous people are, it had one from Stephenie Meyer saying it was “amazing”, it might be but I wouldn’t say she was the best judge of that. She wrote the Twilight series, who does she think she is contaminating decent books, anyway enough of that, Stephen Fry salvaged it for me anyway. Have you noticed he can say anything, no matter how ludicrous it is, and you will believe him! Anyway, back to the book! This book has a massive fan base, and rightly so! My one main concern however that it has the potential to be like Twilight. Ok, so the storyline is a million times better but it still has the impending possibility to be the centre of a teenage obsession. So like Twilight had “Team Edward” and “Team Jacob” and that ludicrousness. The Hunger Games could have “District 12”, ok, so maybe not that pathetic, but you see where I’m going with this? Perhaps “Team Gale” and “Team Peeta” and now there is a film well why not! That would just kill it for me. My boyfriend went to this see this film and said that it was very cheesy, but is that not to be expected? Pretty much every book which has been made into a film borders on cheesy, does it not?!

From the very start it was blatant that this book was good given the amount of people which recommended it to me and what I had a heard about it on the internet. But there were also parts in the novel that interested me. The part where they arrive in Capitol (yes, well done Collins with your dystopian language) and they are artificially put on fire, the way it is described is pretty awesome, if you ask me! I also really liked the Mockingjays, let’s be honest, if they were real they’d be one of my favourite animals. They seemed like the only good thing in a world so corrupt. They were intended for bad but ended up being good, which I liked, I guess to you could argue The Hunger Games were a little like this, they could have been much worse. The rule change half way through shows how there might be some light at the end.

Although there were parts of this book which were good I would like to say it was an overall let-down. I admit if I had found it off my own accord and no one had told me it was amazing I would have loved it a whole lot more than I did. Due to everyone saying it was amazing I had such high standards for it that it just couldn’t possibly compete with. When you do A-levels you are so use to everything you read being utterly confusing (at least at first) in comparison the language in this is quite simple, not saying anything is wrong with it but I might have enjoyed more if I had read it a year ago. That, I am entirely to blame for.

I liked most of the muttations, they were quite well thought out, not too different from any animal we have now so they were easy to imagine but at the same time they were eerie. However I didn’t like the dog/wolf thing that the end, I thought this took it too far, in my opinion.   

However something that I did enjoy about this book was the dystopian-ness of this book. The only other dystopian I have read is Nineteen Eighty-Four and a chapter of Brave New World, I know they’re classics but this outdoes it for me. Although when I actually thought it realistically, I didn’t like it, it was just children fighting one another to the death, which personally doesn’t sit too well with me. I guess that’s a good thing because I don’t think it was meant to be a particularly pleasant read, it was meant to shock the reader.

There are parts of it which were too gory, I know that’s to be expected but it was really emotionless and I wouldn’t have wanted to actually watch it on a screen. The part with the wasps and then when Clove died seemed slightly too graphic for me. I guess you could say that it was meant to be because of the world’s beliefs but that world doesn’t exist so must Collins make her writing so blunt. She possibly could have made them die in more interesting ways, the irony with Foxface’s death was well written, not too horrendous.

The film. The film. The film. Why does my copy have the fact that the film is coming out on March 23rd, I don’t know if you gathered this but I’m kind of interested in reading the book more, it’s like encouraging people to see the film before they even bother reading it. And anyway, the book is always better than the book, just saying! While I was reading this book I thought, “Who would actually want to watch this in film version?” I know I wouldn’t! The Hunger Games are typically gory, it would make a great plot for some kind of horror film! I’ll admit, I’m a little apprehensive about seeing the film.

The ending was why I liked the book and why I would give it 5 stars. I was completely climatically awesome. My heart actually skipped beats as I read it, I was scared for Katniss and wanted her to live, it showed passion which I really liked. I wanted everything to be ok for them and it was so close to being ok but it could have gone so horribly wrong.

Overall I did enjoy this book, not as much as I thought I was going to, but I did like it. I read it pretty quickly which shows something! And I will be reading the next two! Although I am unsure whether I want to see the film, from what I’ve heard I am not sure it is very good. I am very glad I read the book before watching the film.

Leave a Reply

