Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell

I read this over Christmas and when I began it I enjoyed it. This may have something to do with the fact that I had never really read dystopian before. I kind of read it because I was writing dystopian for my English Lit coursework but was pleasantly surprised about how much I enjoyed it. I had decided to do Brave New World beforehand but just couldn’t get into it; I know I’m not the only one who couldn’t! After struggling through the first chapter I thought “enough is enough” and began reading this Nineteen Eighty-Four as a means to escape.

The only criticism I have of this book would be that in my eyes it deteriorated. What I mean by that was it had a good beginning and then it kind of ventured off in the wrong direction. To me it became more about this love affair that wasn’t meant to happen, ok so it was wrong in the government’s eyes but people are happy when they are in love and a dystopian world isn’t meant to show signs of happiness. It began telling a story of them being in love and to an extent turned into some sick romance, in its own way. I know it didn’t end happy but for the reader at this point in time it could have done.

I also wasn’t too fond of the ending as I just began to lose interest in the characters and their situations. Maybe it’s because I didn’t understand or was on a noisy aeroplane and perhaps wasn’t getting the full benefits but even so! I was eager to finish by the end if I am perfectly honest, which to you my reader, I always am!

Although I have mainly criticised this work from Orwell I wouldn’t hesitate before picking up another of his books, overall it was a good experience and I would like to read more of his, although it would be after reading many others. Perhaps it just wasn’t entirely my cup-of-tea, thought I can imagine it was many others. I am glad I read it however and would suggest that this be one that everyone aims to read at least once, besides it’s only a short one!

Leave a Reply

