Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

I loved this book. I really thoroughly enjoyed it and I don’t think I have enjoyed a book as much as this one in a while. I found that the language in the book was to different and actually sparked some kind of reaction within me, which I loved and so I have decided to include quotes from this book that I loved, thought were amusing or thought provoking;

“Truman died. Truman. Not you.”

“I told you it was nothing!”

“Because you found your own key in the world.”

“Yeah. Sure. My brother’s dead. My mother’s insane. Hey, let’s have a crepe”

“You are a ghost, Andi, almost gone. Come back to us.”

“Well, I am glad that something can motivate you, even if it’s only the thought of getting away from me.”

“Louis-Charles loved fireworks. That’s why Alex became the Green Man. So he would see them from his prison cell and know that she was there, that someone was still there for him.”

“And I-I who have failed at everything and I have failed everyone – I must not, I cannot, I will not fail him.”

“For mad I may be but I will never be convenient.”

“I don’t like hope very much. In fact, I hate it. It’s the crystal meth of emotions. It hooks you fast and kills you hard. It’s bad news. The worst. Its sharp sticks and cherry bombs. When hope shows up, it’s only a matter of time before someone gets hurt.”

“And Robespierre, the incorruptible, who loved us so much he cut off our heads so we would not be troubled by too many thoughts.”

“I am not afraid of beating or blood anymore. I’m not afraid of guards or guillotines. There is only one thing I fear now – love. For I have seen it, and I have felt it and I know that it is love, not death, that undoes us.”

“Boys let you down, but music never does.”

“I didn’t manage to kill myself tonight, but somehow I still ended up in a grave.”

‘“My brother died”, I say, suddenly in a broken voice, “He was killed. Two years ago. It was all my fault”’.

“I will rain down silver and gold for you. I shall shatter the black night, break it open, and pour out a million stars. Turn away from the darkness, the madness, the pain”.

I absolutely loved this book. One of the best ones I have read in a while. I loved the main character and the storyline was so interesting. I’m really interested in History and thought the story of Louis-Charles was really interesting but very disturbing and was horrible to think of him dying in that kind of condition and all at the age of 10. I also liked the language in it, it was different.
However what I didn’t like was all the musical reverences, I am quite musical and knew them but I didn’t think it was necessary. Also when she was playing and she always cut her finger, that doesn’t happen. It may happen sometimes but your fingers get harder so it stops happening, if she was really really musical it wouldn’t happen, so that annoyed me a little bit. Sorry.

In this book you see Andi’s relationships with other people. Andi finds it hard to let other people in and often pushes them away, especially since her brother died. She was very close to her music teacher and I liked the things that this character said because he was so realistic and although it wasn’t always what Andi wanted to hear, it helped her in the long run. In this book Andi has a particularly bad relationship with her father because she felt that he was never around for her and her brother when they were children and felt like he didn’t care. Also Andi feels bitter about her father because when he remarries and has another child he treats that one a lot differently and seems to care more. I found her relationship with her dad very sad, I just wanted her to forgive him. He was a rubbish father but he did start trying and I thought that she just kept pushing him away. The reader hopes by the end of this book that she will let go of the things that happened between her and her father in the past, but sadly it doesn’t. I liked Andi’s relationship with Virgil, although NO boy is like that! Although it would be good if they were. I loved their mutual love of music they shared and how they would play together.

However I loved this book and at times it made me cry because it felt so real. I read a lot of it quite late at night and so that freaked me out as I actually thought Robespierre was in my room. I’m not on drugs, I just have paranoia issues.

Leave a Reply

