Pip.

“My father’s name being Pirrip, and my christian name Phillip, my infant tongue could make of both names nothing longer or more explicit than Pip. So, I called myself Pip, and came to be called Pip” (The beginning of Great Expectations…the worst opening I have ever read)

I have decided to donate a whole post to Pip and how much I hate him. I have actually never hated a fictional character more than I dislike Pip before. I even prefer Holden Caulfield (Catcher in the Rye) to Pip. I am reading it for English Literature at the moment and the storyline isn’t too bad but the book is just too long and Pip isn’t someone I enjoy reading about. I’ll be honest I’m struggling to motivate myself to read it. The only thing that is motivating me is getting finished!

I dislike Pip for two major reasons, he is shallow and a snob. They are two points that you cannot deny that he is and I think they both make it rather unbearable and annoying.

  • He is a snob so the book is based around him having a benefactor and he assumes that it is this really rich woman who is his benefactor, it isn’t. And when he finds out who it really is because this man is someone who he treats as socailly below him even though he came from the lowest class to begin with. He then makes a way to get rid of him so he can get on with his life. Sorry?! This man is the reason that he became a gentleman which he REALLY wanted to do but because the person doesn’t suit him he wants to get rid of him but yet be paid for by this person. He’s just really ungrateful. He takes it as a right and it was a priveledge.
  • He is shallow there is this girl in the book is is very beautiful but is realllllly horrible to him. She was bought up that way, to wreak revenge on mankind. Pip really fancies her regardless purely because she is pretty, she can be as mean to him as she wants and he still likes her. He pretty much fancied her for the entirety of his life. The problem I have is if she was ugly or even just average or just alright he would not be interested! She would be mean to him and he would just ignore her and not even think of her at all. It’s almost wants her to be his wife for what he’ll look like.

I hate Pip, I really do! I cannot to be done with him. I also perhaps have a problem of Charles Dickens, he just rambles. I have a problem that he realeased this book in installments so it in his best interests to make it as long as possible. The sentences are so long and what could be said in about one is written in four. The whole book is dull and never-ending!

I realise that there are many people out there that will love this book and people reading this who think I am stupid and can’t appreciate a “brilliant” book. I personally don’t mind the storyline, I do really like Miss Havisham and Joe Gargary is nice too but Pip and Estella are just too annoying. I think that sometimes people feel like they HAVE to like this book because it is a classic but please don’t tell me that if it got realeased nowadays it would be published. You don’t have to like it, it’s not that good.

Leave a Reply

